About NVWN

The Nittany Valley Writers Network is a sharing, supportive, inspiring community linking local writers of all genres and levels of experience: expert and novice… published and hopeful.

History of NVWN:
In April 1990, a group of local writers founded “The State College Area Writers Club.” The club was incorporated as a nonprofit group, “The Nittany Valley Writers Network,” in June 1994. The original board of directors included Sherry Hogan (now Dudik), Sandra Hill, Millie Ragosta, Donna Miller, Gary Delafield, Trish Jensen, Katie Raiser, Jane Cervino and Beth Shirey. In January 2001 Schlow Library offered to sponsor the NVWN to strengthen its outreach to the community. In the noughties, Sally Driscoll worked tirelessly to keep the network alive, along with exec helpers like Karen Dabney, Beverley Molnar and Zoe Brigley Thompson. In 2012, Cindy Simmons became Program Chair, with Greg Halpin and Mark Shirey remaining stalwart supporters.  Mark shared Program duties with Carline Crevecoeur until 2022, and now David Marvin is the Program Chair.

What We Do:

On the second Tuesday of every month, we have a meeting which is usually a talk by a local writer, though occasionally it is a workshop or open discussion.  Meetings are generally held  from 6:30 to 7:30 PM at:

Schlow Library
Musser Community Room
211 S. Allen Street
State College, PA

Become a fan of NVWN on Facebook at: