I used to be one of those writer wannabes who asked published authors how they got their story ideas. Once I came up with an idea I was good to go, but the challenge, I thought, was to find that great story concept.

After putting considerably more miles on my computer keyboard, I no longer ask that question. I’ve realized that everything’s a story–there are too many story ideas out there for me to ever write them all. The challenge is being selective and finding the best perspective to tell that particular story in a way that will speak to the intended audience in a compelling way.

What elements contribute to a compelling story? The writer’s voice, conflict (lots of it!), pace, plot, believable characters that the reader can identify with, good dialogue, just the right amount of descriptive narrative to set the scene and mood….

Finding the story idea is the easy part. Then the real work begins!

